Political Landscape of Mars

The city-states of Mars are languid, decaying and corrupt, and for the most part, impotent. Besides the Earth colonial powers, there are only three major Martian states: the Oenotrian Empire, foe to the British; the Boreosyrtis League, loose mercantile confederation; and the Tossian Empire, self-proclaimed savior of Mars.

The predominant form of government on Mars is the city-state, routinely consisting of a major city on a grand canal which controls the towns and villages for perhaps 100 or 200 miles in all directions. Isolated stretches of canal farther away than this are often controlled by the closest large town, which often flatters itself with the title of city-state, but which is, in fact, far less important than that. In very remote areas, particularly in the uplands, it is not uncommon to find regions where every town along the canal is independent, with varying degrees of control over the surrounding villages. Large political entities above the city-state level are rare, but several are worth noting. Two of these are European colonial holdings, while the others are native governments.

Power Flag Areas of Control
Austro-Hungarian Empire austro-hungarian_empire.png Alten and Solis Lagus
Kingdom of Belgium belgium.png Melas Lacus and Po-Poo-Hanna-Kitai
Boreosyrtis League boreosyrtis_league.png Umbra, Meroe, Coloe, and Saardaar
Social Democratic Republic of France social_democratic_republic_of_france.jpg Idaeus Fons
German Empire german_empire.png Dioscuria
Great Britain great_britain.png Crown Colony of Syrtis Lapis
Empire of Japan empire_of_japan.png Euxinus Lacus
Oenotrian Empire oenotrian_empire.png Oenotria, Astrapsk, Crocea, Deltoton, Iapygia, and Skorosia
Russian Empire russia.png Hecate Lacus
Spanish Empire spain.png Villa Real
Tossian Empire tossian_empire.png Tossia
United States of America united_states_of_america.png Thymiamata (limited presence)

Political Landscape of Mars

Space 1889: Wrigglesworth and Pinchback's Majestic Interplanetary Trading Company madirishman